DAN BIWOTT: AN ICON IN THE MAKING

When someone mentions the word football in Moi University, be sure the name Dan Biwott is just about be mentioned. Dan Biwott has been a major talking point now and the recent past within the university premises as far as football is concerned. He has been very phenomenal writing and rewriting the soccer history books in Moi University, surppassing record after record.

I seeked to bring him on board and just have a word or two about this sport. He honoured the invitation and I had my interview. ” I am a third year in the school of engineering. Yeah a lot of people have really been mesmerised by the fact that I am actually an engineer in the making. I really love football myself. It’s something that I keep doing with passion,” he tells me. Biwott says that football has been his thing right from his early days. ” I have represented the Moi University in different football occasions where we have won five major trophies”.

Biwott was part of the third year team that lost to the fourth years about two weeks ago at the TSA games. The scored the solitary goal for his side. He tells me that apart from talent, football requires hard work, dedication and discipline for anyone to hit the top spot. ” I really urge all the parents out there to nurture the talents of their kids for them to be motivated for greatness. The government should set up football talent academies to expose these abilities. We all have an obligation in this.” Those were some of his great words.

Dan Biwott puts it clear that all stakeholders have a role to play in bringing up the game. ” On the issue of women into football I would really want our ladies to take up the sport. Football is something that is for all us and women can do much better. I have seen many ladies like Pamellah Achieng who are really doing well.”

He points out on corrupt leaders who squander funds allocated by the government for the good of the sport. On this closing remarks he says ” Football can be taken to higher heights if we put much more effort into it. We can do this.”

Leave a comment